top of page

Review: Engraved on the Heart by Tara Johnson


About The Book:

Reluctant debutante Keziah Montgomery lives beneath the weighty expectations of her staunch Confederate family, forced to keep her epilepsy secret for fear of a scandal. As the tensions of the Civil War arrive on their doorstep in Savannah, Keziah sees little cause for balls and courting. Despite her discomfort, she cannot imagine an escape from her familial confines—until her old schoolmate Micah shows her a life-changing truth that sets her feet on a new path . . . as a conductor in the Underground Railroad.

Dr. Micah Greyson never hesitates to answer the call of duty, no matter how dangerous, until the enchanting Keziah walks back into his life and turns his well-ordered plans upside down. Torn between the life he has always known in Savannah and the fight for abolition, Micah struggles to discern God’s plan amid such turbulent times.

Battling an angry fiancé, a war-tattered brother, bounty hunters, and their own personal demons, Keziah and Micah must decide if true love is worth the price . . . and if they are strong enough to survive the unyielding pain of war.

My Thoughts:

Y'all! I absolutely LOVED this story! Before I even finished it I was texting my friends telling them they had to buy this book! What was there not to like? There were so many good quotes from this book, so many wonderful parts. The amount of spiritual content in here was amazing! And it was twined in there so well and fit so perfectly. From the beginning Tara has you hooked. This was a totally new aspect of the Civil War and the Underground Rail Road. And it was great!

I loved seeing how Keziah grew in her walk with the Lord, how she began to see the world in a different light. And she didn't let her illness stop her from having a purposeful life, from doing her part to help out. She was so inspiring!

And let me tell you, there were some intense parts that had me holding my breath. Of course, there were parts that had me crying as well. Tara Johnson has such a way with words that captures and holds your attention till the very end.

This author also handled the subject of slavery so well!

After I finished this book I was in a book hangover! I didn't want it to end... I just wanted to turn around and pick it up and start all over again. Seriously, you'll love this book!

I can't wait to see what else this author writes! I'll definitely be watching to see what else she writes!

My Favorite Quote From This Book:

How do I pick just one?? I can't! There were soo many, so here is a few:

"I give myself to you. Lord, I want to make a difference. Help me make a difference...."

I will not live in the land of what - ifs. God's not there. He is I am.

"One persons life can touch so many."


bottom of page