top of page

Review: An Uncommon Woman by Laura Fantz


About the Book:

Unflinching and plainspoken, Tessa Swan is not your typical 18th-century woman. Born and bred on the western Virginia frontier along with her five brothers, she is a force to be reckoned with.

Quiet and courageous, Clay Tygart is not your typical 18th-century man. Raised by Lenape Indians, he returns a hero from the French and Indian War to the fort that bears his name, bringing with him Tessa’s long-lost friend, Keturah, a redeemed Indian captive like himself.

Determined to avoid any romantic entanglements as fort commander, Clay remains aloof whenever he encounters the lovely Tessa. But when she is taken captive by the tribe Clay left, his hand–and heart–are forced, leading to one very private and one very public reckoning.

My Thoughts:

What a book! I absolutely loved it! I laughed, I sighed, I cried. As they say, it gave me ''all the feels''.

An Uncommon Woman, was an uncommon book. The story was so different and written so differently from anything I'd ever read before. And I loved it! This is my first book I've read by Laura Frantz and I didn't know what to expect. But I was pleasantly surprised. I am now looking for more of her books to add to my shelves!

I loved Tessa. How could you not? She was the perfect mix of independent frontiers woman and vulnerable lady. I loved watching her character grow and Clay as well. Sometimes I felt like the characters were too wooden though. They didn't really react to things I thought they would react to. I can't say more because - spoilers!- but I just found it strange.

The way Laura Frantz wrote this book though, it really made you feel like you were back in the 1770's. The vocabulary, the descriptions of the places around you, it all really made the book. The spiritual content was great as well. The light romance between the two was great as well. It was very sweet and simple. A good, clean read.

An inspiring story filled with adventure and romance, this tale of life on the frontier will keep you hooked from beginning to end.

Favorite Quote From This Book:

All he wanted now was Tessa. Tessa opposite him at the table, doing her handwork by the fire, reading to him in the firelight. To talk to and laugh with.


bottom of page