top of page

Review: A Name Unknown by Roseanna M. White


About the Book:

Europe is on the brink of World War I. How can you tell who is loyal, and who is not? Rosemary Gresham is a thief, living in the streets of London. But not just a normal thief, she's one of the best. And because of that she's hired by the mysterious Mr. V. and is sent to become Mr. Peter Holstein's librarian. But a librarian is just a cover for her real job -to find out if Mr. Holstein is loyal to England or Germany. While going through old books and documents in the huge library she discovers something different to what any of them had hoped to find. Peter Holstein is a loner. He prefers to stay in his study and write, then go out and visit with people. Because of his German last name and background everyone thinks he's a spy for Germany. Especially with Peter's close relationship to the King. Peter writes adventure novels under a pseudonym, but Rosemary doesn't know that's why he hides out in his office day after day. She can't help but wonder, is he really a spy? Neither one of them planned to fall for each other. It complicates things for Rose. How can she turn Peter in... when she's fallen for him?

My Thoughts:

How do I put into words how much I enjoyed this book?! It was amazing!! Thrilling! Roseanna has such a talent! The way she weaves a story together is incredible. And the characters! How can you not love Peter? His stuttering sure didn't stop him from using words. The letters he wrote in this book were inspiring, I loved them! I also enjoyed how he wasn't the rough and tough type of male hero you normally get in a book. And Rosemary's attitude and outlook on life was a delight! The way she slowly accepted Christ made me think of my own relationship with Him, and thankful I know Him. The faith content in this book was wonderful! I cannot wait until the next book comes out! I received this book from the publisher for an honest review.

Favorite Quote From This Book:

"Fiction is a way to express mankind's deepest heart. His fears. His hopes. His failings. His successes. Fiction is truth. . . in a pretty wrapping."


bottom of page