top of page

Review: Chasing Jupiter by Rachel Coker


About The Book:

Scarlett Blaine's life in 1960s Georgia isn't always easy, especially given her parents' financial struggles and the fights surrounding her sister Juli's hippie lifestyle. Then there's her brother, Cliff. While Scarlett loves him more than anything, there's no denying his unique behavior leaves Cliff misunderstood and left out. So when he wishes for a rocket to Jupiter, Scarlett agrees to make it happen, no matter how crazy the idea might be. Raising the rocket money means baking pies, and the farmer's son, Frank, agrees to provide the peaches if Scarlett will help him talk to Juli. The problem is, Scarlett really enjoys her time with Frank, and finds herself wondering if, someday, they could be more than friends. Just as she thinks everything might be going her way, Cliff suffers an accident that not only affects the rocket plans, but shakes Scarlett's view of God. As the summer comes to an end, Scarlett must find a way to regain what she's lost, but also fulfill a promise to launch her brother's dream.


My Thoughts:

I started this book in the evening and stayed up way too late reading it! Oops! But it was so good! Didn't take me long to finish it the next morning. The whole time I just wanted to give Scarlett a hug! Watching her grow spiritually was awesome! Scarlett was amazing through the whole story and sometimes I just wanted to give Frank a good shake! This book was also in first person which I normally don't prefer but this was really good, but as always I wished I could read the other characters' POV. This book was very clean which I appreciated and I recommend it for early teens to teenagers. I'm definitely checking out more books by this author! Loved all the spiritual content!

Favorite Quote From This Book:

"You can stay perched in your birdcage forever.... Or you can fly."


bottom of page