top of page

The Reading Habits Tag


I was unofficially tagged by the lovely Lindsey from the blog Books For Christian Girls. Her blog is amazing! You should definitely check it out! Link below:

Her tag is here:

This is the first tag I've ever participated in, so I'm a little nervous. It's just answering a few questions about my own reading habits. Well, might as well get started!

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

For the most part I read in my bed at night. If I do have some free time during the day though, I like to read outside, but the chair isn't very comfortable.

2. Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

Ahem... well... I would have to say a random piece of paper. I use what ever is nearest, a gum wrapper, receipt, envelope, I've even used a paper plate before (yes it was clean!). Even though I have a whole basket of bookmarks,(pictured below) I am too lazy to go the two steps from my desk to my bookcase. *eye roll*

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or a certain amount of pages?

It depends on the book. If I'm not really into it I can just stop where ever. But if I'm interested then I have to stop at a line break or end of chapter. But sometimes they leave you hanging at the end of the chapter so as we all say, 'Just one more chapter'. Not that we really limit ourselves to just one more! ;)

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes to both. I often read while eating lunch. Or while eating my snack on break at work. But if its finger foods I won't. Don't want the book to get dirty!

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

Definitely music! For the most part I just listen to soft instrumental while reading. I can read while a movie is playing, if I've seen the movie before. But I prefer to read with either music or quiet.

6. One book at a time or several at once?

Several. Or more then several actually. Currently I am in the middle of seven books. I know... that's an awful lot. But I start one then find another I really want to read and... lets just say I have little to no self-control when it comes to books! oops! I'm trying to focus on just one at a time this year... yeah, its not going so well.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?

Depends really. I can read anywhere, its easy to block out all the background noise but I don't read very well because I'm always looking up to watch what's going on around me. But most of my reading is done at home.

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Silently. I read so fast that trying to read out loud slows me down. And comes out a gibberish mess! Sometimes though when I'm not quite grasping the meaning of the sentence or it was particularly funny, I'll read it out loud.

9. Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

I've never skipped pages before, but I'll sometimes look ahead to see when one of my favorite characters is back, or to find out when something more interesting is going to happen.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it brand new?

Keeping it brand new! Sometimes its hard to do with a book, especially the small Love Inspired series'. But I love to look at my bookshelf and see clean, crisp spines.

11. Do you write in your books?

Noo! I like the pages to be clean. With most of my reviews though I like to add one of my favorite quotes from the book. I've just started writing them all out on pieces of paper and sticking them in the front of the book so later I can go back and look at some inspirational or comical quotes.

Well there it is! I tried hard not to ramble on, hope I didn't bore y'all! I tag A Good Book And Cup Of Tea to do this tag next, and of course, if anyone else wants to do it as well, feel free to consider yourself tagged!


bottom of page