top of page

Review: Porch Swing Girl by Taylor Bennett


About The Book:

What if friendship cost you everything? Stranded in Hawaii after the death of her mother, sixteen-year-old Olive Galloway is desperate to escape. She has to get back to Boston before her dad loses all common sense and sells the family house. But plane tickets cost money—something Olive gravely lacks. With the help of Brander, the fussy youth group worship leader, and Jazz, a mysterious girl with a passion for all things Hawaiian, Olive lands a summer job at the Shave Ice Shack and launches a scheme to buy a plane ticket home before the end of the summer.

But when Jazz reveals a painful secret, Olive’s plans are challenged. Jazz needs money. A lot of it. Olive and Brander are determined to help their friend but, when their fundraising efforts are thwarted, Olive is caught in the middle. To help Jazz means giving up her ticket home. And time is running out.

My Thoughts:

I received this book in eBook form, and I normally don't read eBooks, I prefer paperbacks. Which is why it took me a while to start. Boy did I miss out! This book was incredible!! From the very beginning I was hooked and didn't want to put it down. Even when my eyes were burning (from staring at a screen too long and from crying haha!) Miss Taylor has such a way with words. The characters really come alive and draw you into the story. I felt like I was on the adventure with Olive, struggling along with her. Her growth and journey back to God was so wonderful to watch. I loved the amount of spiritual content in this book and it was so clean!

As I scrolled to the last page my heart sank. I didn't want it too end. It went by so fast. Now I have to wait for the next book to come out!

Even though this is called a YA book I recommend it for adults too if you want to sit down and read a sweet story that will draw tears to your eyes. In a good way!!

Definitely an author I'm looking forward to reading more of! Who am I kidding? I'm going to re-read this story in a couple weeks when my paperback comes in!

Favorite Quote From This Book: (It was so hard to pick just one quote! There was so many!)

Just like family, home isn’t one place, one thing. It’s the different people and places God puts in a person’s life to help them rest and grow.

I received this from the author for an honest review.


bottom of page