top of page

Review: Diamond in the Rough by Jen Turano


About The Book:

When Miss Poppy Garrison accepts her grandmother's offer of financial help for her family in exchange for Poppy joining the New York social Season, she quickly realizes she is far less equipped to mingle with the New York Four Hundred than even she knew. As she becomes embroiled in one hilarious fiasco after another, becoming the diamond of the first water her grandmother longs her to be looks more impossible by the day.

Reginald Blackburn, second son of a duke, is in New York to help his cousin find and American heiress who can help save his family;s estate. But when his very proper British manners lead Poppy's grandmother to request he teach etiquette to Poppy, he quickly finds himself in for much more than he bargained for.

And while they couldn't be more opposite, Reginald and Poppy just mind find they have more to teach each other than they ever could have expected.

My Thoughts:

What can I say? It's a Jen Turano book. It was amazing! I absolutely loved it. I've always loved Jen's writing style. Her dialogue is always so witty and you can't help but love her characters. I loved the different aspect of this book. A man teaching ladies etiquette. It was hysterical! And Poppy's group of friends, I loved them all so much! I wish I could be best friends with them all, especially Murray. Jen's book's are always light-hearted, and romantic with plenty of laugh-out-loud moments. As you turn the last page you wish the story wasn't over but you close the book with a happy sigh and a smile on your face feeling like you'd just spent the past hours with beloved friends.

My Favorite Quote From This Book:

"I think you'll eventually discover that you're delightful just the way God made you, my dear."


bottom of page