top of page

Review: At Loves Command by Karen Witemeyer

About The Book:

Haunted by the horrors of war, ex-cavalry officer Matthew Hanger leads a band of mercenaries known as Hanger's Horsemen who have become legends in 1890's Texas. They defend the innocent and obtain justice for the oppressed. But when a rustler;s bullet leaves one of them at death's door, they're the ones in need of saving.

Dr. Josephine Burkett is used to men taking on look at her skirts and discounting her medical skills. What she's not used to i shaving a man change his mind in a heartbeat and offer to assist her in surgery. Matthew's dedication to his friend during recovery earns Josephine's respect, and when her brother is abducted, he becomes her only hope for rescue.

When plans go awry and Josephine is caught in the crossfire, Matthew may have to sacrifice everything - even his team - to save her.

My Thoughts:

What a book! I absolutely loved it! Literally couldn't put it down!

Lets start with the characters. They were so real and you totally got invested in their story, their plight. Matthew, the brave, heroic Calvary captain. I loved that he was so good at what he did, but yet, he still recognized his short comings. He still grew. In the end he realized he wasn't in control at all. Then there was Josephine. Spunky, spirited, caring. I really appreciated how she quickly accepted Matthew and his career, and who he was. How could you not love Jo? Who struggled to learn the same lesson as Matthew Hanger. You may think you're in control, but you're not truly living until you let go and surrender to the One who is truly in control.

I loved the suspense in this story! It just kept on going. At Loves Command was different than Karen's previous books I felt like. But it was still amazing! Ten out of ten! Five Stars! Highly Recommend!

I enjoy reading suspense books, but most of them are modern, with a lot of lingo I just can't follow and a lot of techy terms. This story though was perfect! It had the 'mission' the 'operation' the 'strategies' of a good rescue mission, without confusing me.

As I turned the last page I sighed, then groaned before exclaiming, "When is the next one coming out!?" Seriously guys, you don't want to miss this series! I'm so excited for the next story!

I received this book from the author for my honest review. All thoughts are my own.

Favorite Quote From This Book:

"I might not know you well, Matthew Hanger, but I've seen your heart. The world would be a darker place without you in it."

bottom of page