top of page

Review: This Quiet Sky by Joanne Bischof


About This Book:

There is nothing extraordinary about Tucker O’Shay’s dreams. Go to college. Become president. Fall in love. And pretend like he has enough time to get it all done. Sixteen-year-old Sarah Miller doesn’t expect anything out of the ordinary when she begins her first day at the one-room-school house in her new hometown of Rocky Knob. But when she meets seventeen-year-old Tucker O’Shay—the boy with the fatal illness who volunteers to tutor her in algebra—she finds herself swept up in a friendship that changes the way she sees the world and a love that changes her life.

My Thoughts:

Beautiful. Moving. Emotional. Heart wrenching.

These are all words I would use to describe this story. It's a beautifully written story, shorter then most, only 149 pages. Its a quick read but that doesn't make the story any less powerful. Let me tell you guys, I cried. And not just a tear here or there, I cried. I couldn't put this book down. From page one Sarah and Tucker's story caught and held me till the last page. And then after I had the biggest book hangover.

I'm struggling to even put into words my thoughts for this book. It was sad, yes. And normally if a book is sad I don't recommend it. Why would you want to read a book that's sad? But y'all, I highly recommend this book to everyone! The story instantly reminds you of Anne of Green Gables. The romance is soft and sweet. The friendship between the two is wonderful. How could you not love Tucker? His insight on life is moving. Treating every day as a gift from God. Every moment. Not a second should go by that we should take for granted. It really was a wake up call for my own life. How many times do I go through a day, a week even and not realize what a gift another day was from God?

I can't stress enough how much I recommend this story. Seriously, just do yourself a favor and go read it!

This was my first book I've read by Joanne Bischof and now I've made it my goal to have every book she's written on my shelf!

Side Note: This story was wrote in first person.

My Favorite Quote From This Book:

"Then I realized He's still giving... He's giving me today... And even this moment. Sometimes that's all we have - a moment. But... it doesn't make it less. It just makes it more."

bottom of page