top of page

Review: The Nature of a Lady by Roseanna M. White



About The Book:

1906

Lady Elizabeth "Libby" Sinclair, with her love of microscopes and nature, isn't favored in society. She flees to the beautiful Isles of Scilly for the summer and stumbles into the dangerous secrets left behind by her holiday cottage's former occupant, also named Elizabeth, who mysteriously vanished.

Oliver Tremayne--gentleman and clergyman--is determined to discover what happened to his sister, and he's happy to accept the help of the girl now living in what should have been Beth's summer cottage . . . especially when he realizes it's the curious young lady he met briefly two years ago, who shares his love of botany and biology. But the hunt for his sister involves far more than nature walks, and he can't quite believe all the secrets Beth had been keeping from him.

As Libby and Oliver work together, they find ancient legends, pirate wrecks, betrayal, and the most mysterious phenomenon of all: love.


My Thoughts:

A treasure hunt, a missing sibling, old secrets and mysteries and a beautiful romance all came together for a delightful read.

Oh my goodness! What a book! I think this is my favorite of Roseanna's which is really saying something because I LOVE all of her books.

I absolutely loved getting to know a new set of people, new families and friends. Libby was so fun, with her love of books and botany. And how could you not love Oliver? As always with Roseanna's books you are hooked from the very first line and unable to step away until the very end. The spiritual content was solid throughout the book, the message in the story, beautiful.

With Libby and Oliver's shared love of botany there was a lot of botanical discussion's but not overly so. You were never bored, or skimming paragraphs. There was just enough that you knew the author had done her research and formed her characters very well.

I literally could not put it down! The last one hundred pages took me an entire day to read. Not because I was busy. Not because it was dull. But because I kept putting the book down and walking away, not wanting it to end. It was a sad moment when I read 'The End' and had to leave the Isles of Scilly. I can't wait to return here soon and see what other adventures they all have!


*I received this book for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

bottom of page