top of page

Review: Then Again, Maybe by Susan L. Tuttle


About The Book:

Former beauty queen Belle Thornton knows what it is to think she has it all, only to discover she never valued what was truly important. Raising her daughter and building a thriving thrift shop that helps single mothers like herself has taught Belle what the word beautiful really means. Unfortunately, thanks to her shady landlord, Belle must toss those hard-earned dollars into the money-pit of a rental that houses both her tiny apartment and her business or risk the city closing her doors. When funds dwindle as quickly as her to-do list grows, she is forced to rely on the absolute last rescuer she’d choose: Micah Shaw.

Leaving Belle at the altar, pregnant, was the worst choice Micah ever made. He returns home, hoping to reconcile with Belle and their toddler. While balancing his medical residency with caring for his ailing mother, he strives to win Belle’s heart again and ensure her business remains open. Helping with that is the easy part. Chiseling through the rock encompassing Belle's heart is more of a challenge, but one he’s determined to conquer.

If only he could get her to realize that a new lease on love may be their best collaboration of all.


My Thoughts:

This was my first book by Susan L. Tuttle. And it won't be my last! This book had my chuckling, smiling, and yes, crying. It took me a few chapters to get into the story, but once I was in I was hooked and couldn't put it down. I loved Susan's way of writing. Her characters, and descriptions really brought you in and made you feel a part of the story. There was a theme of forgiveness through the book. Of not 'forgetting' because we all know you can forgive but you always remember. But of letting it go. Not holding to the past but moving forward. I loved it.

I loved Micah, and his determination to be the better man. To be a new creation in Christ and let go of the old man he once was. There were times I was telling Belle, 'just forgive him already!' But I know she had to work it out for herself. And of course, you can't help but love little Anna, she was adorable.

I recommend this book for older teens or adults. There is talk of drinking and having a baby before marriage.

The spiritual content was very light, could have almost passed as a secular book.



*I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy from the author. All opinions are my own*

bottom of page